T.E.C. Erfurt – a sporty new beginning

T.E.C. Erfurt – a sporty new beginning

Thüringer Einkaufscenter Erfurt (T.E.C.) is an established, successful retail location, well located in the commuter belt around Erfurt, the capital of Thuringia. A comprehensive revitalisation programme aims to bring the T.E.C. even more into line with changing customer requirements and make significant improvements to customer experience in the centre. Since the middle of 2019, the owners, METRO PROPERTIES and Glinicke GmbH, have been working with the centre manager, MEC METRO-ECE Centermanagement GmbH & Co. KG, to implement a strategic realignment based on collected data.

Modernisation of the entire retail centre is due to be completed by mid-2020. Customers can look forward to an attractive, modern shopping experience.

Modern design concept gives fresh impetus

The departure of the Praktiker DIY store has freed up a total of 8,700 m2 of selling space. The owners have seized the opportunity to reposition T.E.C. Erfurt in line with future requirements.

The opening of DECATHLON in summer 2019, for instance, filled a gap in the sports and leisure segment, attracting new customer groups to the location. In a related move, a new fitness studio is opening its doors. Discount supermarket ALDI  is now able to expand considerably, thanks to the space that has been freed up, and health and beauty store dm-drogerie markt  has similar plans for the second quarter of 2020.

The new design concept also involves a gradual move towards a holistic, modern look in the outdoor and indoor areas. This includes a focus on designing bright, inviting entrance areas. Inside the centre, the refurbishment concept echoes the outdoor design in terms of the materials used and the colour scheme. By far the most visible sign of the new design concept is the minimalistic logo.

Logo T.E.C. Erfurt

There is a demand for innovative concepts that provide answers to demographic change and changes in living habits. We will be keeping our eyes on millennials, the consumers with the highest purchasing power, without losing sight of other customer groups.

Stephan Freitag, Head of Asset Management Center und Leasing Management, Region Germany
$name

Dates and facts

  • Location: T.E.C. Thüringer Einkaufscenter Erfurt, Hermsdorfer Straße 4, 99099 Erfurt, Germany
  • Opening: spring 2020 following revitalisation
  • Owners: METRO PROPERTIES and Glinicke GmbH
  • Centre management: MEC METRO-ECE Centermanagement GmbH & Co. KG
  • Selling space: 23,500 m2
  • Number of shop units: 48
  • Number of tenants: 43
  • Anchor tenants: Real, DECATHLON , FitX, ALDI, dm-drogerie markt, Media Markt, Deichmann, Adler Modemarkt, Futterhaus
  • Services: baker, florist, pharmacy, hairdresser, key cutting
  • 1,000 free parking spaces, plus 400 parking spaces in the underground car park
  • Facilities: free charging points for e-bikes and mobile devices
  • Free Wi-F

www.thueringereinkaufscenter.de

Your Contact

T.E.C. Erfurt – ein sportlicher Neuanfang

T.E.C. Erfurt – ein sportlicher Neuanfang

Das Thüringer Einkaufscenter Erfurt (T.E.C.) ist ein etablierter und erfolgreicher Handelsstandort, gut gelegen im Einzugsgebiet der Landeshauptstadt. Eine umfangreiche Revitalisierung soll das T.E.C. noch besser an die sich wandelnden Kundenbedürfnisse anpassen und die Aufenthaltsqualität deutlich steigern. Bereits seit Mitte 2019 arbeiten die Eigentümer, METRO PROPERTIES und Glinicke GmbH gemeinsam mit dem Center Manager MEC METRO-ECE Centermanagement GmbH & Co. KG an der Umsetzung der datenbasierten, strategischen Neuausrichtung.

Bis Mitte 2020 soll die Modernisierung des gesamten Fachmarktcenters abgeschlossen sein. Die Kunden dürfen sich auf ein attraktives, modernes Einkaufserlebnis freuen.

Modernes Designkonzept setzt neue Impulse

Mit dem Auszug des Praktiker Baumarktes sind insgesamt 8.700 m2 Verkaufsfläche frei geworden. Eine Chance, die die Eigentümer ergreifen, um das T.E.C. Erfurt für zukünftige Anforderungen neu zu positionieren.

So gelingt es mit der Eröffnung von DECATHLON im Sommer 2019 eine Versorgungslücke im Segment Sport und Freizeit zu schließen und weitere Kundengruppen an den Standort zu locken. Passend dazu öffnet ein Fitnessstudio seine Pforten. Auch der Discounter ALDI kann sich durch frei gewordene Fläche deutlich vergrößern; für den Drogeriemarkt DM gibt es für das zweite Quartal 2020 ähnliche Pläne.

Das neue Designkonzept setzt ebenfalls auf eine schrittweise Veränderung zu einem ganzheitlichen und modernen Look im Außen- wie im Innenbereich. Ein Fokus liegt dabei auf der Gestaltung von hellen und einladenden Eingangsbereichen. In der Mall wird ein ansprechendes Refurbishment-Konzept umgesetzt, das Materialität und Farbkonzept der Außengestaltung aufgreift. Weit sichtbarstes Zeichen des neuen Designkonzepts ist das minimalistische Logo.

Logo T.E.C. Erfurt

Gefragt sind innovative Konzepte, die Antworten auf den demografischen Wandel und die Veränderung der Lebensgewohnheiten liefern. Dabei verlieren wir neben den Millennials als kaufkräftigste Konsumenten auch die anderen Kundengruppen nicht aus den Augen.

Stephan Freitag, Head of Asset Management Center und Leasing Management, Region Germany

Daten und Fakten

  • Standort: T.E.C. Thüringer Einkaufscenter Erfurt, Hermsdorfer Str. 4, 99099 Erfurt
  • Eröffnung Frühjahr 2020 nach Revitalisierung
  • Eigentümer: METRO PROPERTIES & Glinicke GmbH
  • Center Management: MEC METRO-ECE Centermanagement GmbH & Co. KG

  • Verkaufsfläche: 23.500 m2
  • Anzahl Shopeinheiten: 48
  • Anzahl Mieter: 43
  • Ankermieter: Real, Decathlon, FitX, Aldi, dm Drogeriemarkt, Media Markt, Deichmann, Adler Modemarkt, Futterhaus
  • Dienstleistungen und Services: Bäcker, Blumenhändler, Apotheke, Friseur, Schlüsseldienst
  • 1.000 kostenlose Parkplätze, plus 400 Parkplätze in der Tiefgarage
  • Services: Kostenlose Ladestationen für E-Bikes und mobile Endgeräte
  • kostenfreies WLAN

www.thueringereinkaufscenter.de

Stephan Freitag
Stephan Freitag

Abteilungsleiter Asset Management Center & Leasing Management, METRO Properties

+49 211 6886-4164