METRO PROPERTIES Be7 – the office world of the future

logo-be7

With its innovative office concept, METRO PROPERTIES offers its employees a state-of-the-art working environment that meets many of today’s needs for the now widely accepted practice of combining working at the office with working from home.

With the Be1 project to modernise METRO AG’s headquarters launched in 2018, the company embarked on a journey towards future-oriented approaches to working. In 2021, METRO PROPERTIES set new standards for flexible office design. In contrast to Be1, which had been implemented together with a general planner, the company now relied on its own expertise. The new office concept was planned and executed internally by METRO PROPERTIES.

Work Together

Bridge 7 on the Campus is now the new home of METRO PROPERTIES, so the employees named the new office concept ‘Be7’.

How can we create the ideal workplace for our new ways of working? That was the question everyone was asking in 2021.

At the time, METRO PROPERTIES was planning its move to the METRO Campus and the pandemic was spurring development on the newly planned working world.

Virtual tour of Be7 with before-and-after comparison

This goes beyond flexible workplaces to include digitalising processes and transforming the management culture.

In response to growing hybrid requirements, the new office needed to promote interactions and a sense of community and serve as a meeting place for all employees. To achieve this, a shared desk model with diverse flex office options was designed.

‘We put a lot of work into it, but above all we invested our passion for real estate! The layout is based on a mix of compact multifunctional spaces for meetings, telephone areas and silent offices with open office space. Workplace bookings are made via the in-house designed app. Depending on the requirements, different workplace configurations can be selected, and the new space is compact and flexibly adaptable.’

Michael Gottschalk, Be7 Project Manager
Michael Gottschalk

After an employee kick-off event, all METRO PROPERTIES employees were presented with a choice of 3 flex models. This provided the basis for calculating future space requirements. Objections and ideas were incorporated directly into the planning at an early stage.

The selected non-territorial approach completely dispenses with hierarchies and departmental boundaries and focuses more on communication and team areas. The management team also sits in this area. This is intended to promote a new spirit of togetherness.

‘We weren’t aiming for a definitive architectural concept. A deliberately unfinished, raw concept provides a basis that allows for any necessary adjustments and reflects the constant changes in the working world.’

Stefan Herbert, the lead architect and Head of Studio Corporate Project Development at METRO PROPERTIES
Stefan Herbert

All employees are constantly consulted and their input is sought for everything from selecting the work model and choosing names to developing the office culture and providing the 100-day feedback.

In the ‘Be7 Office Culture’ project, many teams are working independently on continuously improving processes that emerge from the new layout. A cultural transformation for METRO PROPERTIES.

Success is based on maximum flexibility and employee satisfaction. 91%1 very much appreciate the trust placed in them by their employer.

83%1 find that their work-life balance has improved! 71%1 of respondents are happy to give up their personal workspace in exchange for more flex work.

1 Excerpt from the employee 100-day feedback

The office concept focuses on 3 aspects of sustainability

Reduce: The reduced amount of office space saves on energy costs and the use of materials. More flex days also cut down on commuting time.

Reuse: Many materials from the old office (doors, acoustic elements, lights, furniture ...) were reused or offered at the employee flea market.

Recycle: When selecting construction materials, preference was given to recycled raw materials. For instance, the new carpet is CO2-neutral.

In addition to various retreats, people’s sense of well-being is enhanced thanks to height-adjustable desks, private lockers, excellent sound acoustics, measuring devices for climate monitoring and ventilation recommendations as well as a motion detector for sophisticated lighting control. The central Welcome Zone is the gathering place for all colleagues. In addition to open meeting zones, a library, exhibition areas for projects and a pitch arena, there is also a coffee bar.

Stefan Herbert Podcast

MORE Podcast with Stefan Herbert

One of the brains behind the project is Stefan Herbert, an architect at METROPROPERTIES. In the MORE Podcast ‘Our New Ways of Working’, he talks about how hybrid working is becoming a reality.

Listen to the MORE Podcast (in English)

Nominated for the ZIA Office Award 2021

Be7 placed among the top 3 entries in the ‘Space Concept’ category of the ZIA Office Award. CBRE and ZIA present the Office Award in recognition of the most successful, innovative and sustainable concepts for the office work of the future.

Award Zia Office 2021

Be7 is a ‘pilot project’ in which we are constantly adapting and readjusting processes. The daily experiences of employees provide the basis for future adjustments. We remain on the move – WE MOVE.

Be7 We Move

Heike Robin
Head of PR & Internal Communications
METRO PROPERTIES
+49 211 6886-4208

Mit dem innovativen Bürokonzept bietet METRO PROPERTIES seinen Mitarbeitenden eine moderne Arbeitswelt, die vielen Anforderungen an die längst Realität gewordene Verzahnung von Büro- und Homeoffice gerecht wird.

Mit Be1, der Modernisierung des Headquarters der METRO AG, startete bereits 2018 die Reise in Richtung zukunftsweisendes Arbeiten. 2021 setzt METRO PROPERTIES neue Maßstäbe für die flexible Bürogestaltung. Während Be1 noch gemeinsam mit einem Generalplaner umgesetzt worden war, vertraute man nun auf die eigenen Kompetenzen. Das neue Bürokonzept wurde METRO PROPERTIES intern geplant und realisiert.

Die Brücke 7 am Campus ist von nun an das neue Zuhause von METRO PROPERTIES und so gaben die Mitarbeitenden dem neuen Bürokonzept den Namen „Be7“.

Wie schaffen wir den optimalen Arbeitsplatz für unsere New Ways of Working? Das war die Frage, die sich 2021 alle stellten.

Da plante METRO PROPERTIES gerade den Umzug an den METRO Campus und die Corona-Pandemie wirkte wie ein Beschleuniger auf die neu geplante Arbeitswelt.

Virtueller Rundgang durch Be7 mit Vorher-nachher-Vergleich

Viel mehr als nur ein neues Officekonzept – #NEWGETHER

Dabei geht es nicht nur um flexible Arbeitsplätze, sondern auch um Digitalisierung von Prozessen und eine veränderte Führungskultur.

Durch die zunehmend hybriden Anforderungen sollte das neue Büro den Austausch und das Miteinander fördern und zum Treffpunkt für alle Mitarbeitenden werden. Um dies zu erreichen, wurde ein Shared-Desk-Modell mit verschiedenen Flex-Office-Optionen konzipiert.

„Wir haben viel Arbeit hineingesteckt, aber vor allem unsere Leidenschaft für Immobilien! Das Layout basiert auf einem Wechsel von kompakten multifunktionalen Flächen für Meetings, Telefonbereichen und Silent Offices mit offenen Büroflächen. Die Arbeitsplatzbuchungen erfolgen über die inhouse konzipierte App. Je nach Bedarf können verschiedene Arbeitsplatzkonfigurationen gewählt werden, wobei die neue Fläche kompakt und flexibel anpassbar ist.“

Michael Gottschalk, Projektleiter Be7

Nach einer Mitarbeitenden-Kick-off-Veranstaltung standen allen METRO PROPERTIES Mitarbeitenden 3 Flex-Modelle zur Wahl. Daraus erfolgte eine Ableitung des zukünftigen Flächenbedarfs. Einwände und Ideen flossen frühzeitig direkt in die Planung ein.

Der dabei gewählte non-territoriale Ansatz verzichtet gänzlich auf Hierarchien und Abteilungsgrenzen und setzt mehr auf Kommunikations- und Teambereiche. Auch die Geschäftsführung sitzt mit auf der Fläche. So soll ein neues Miteinander gefördert werden.

„Ein finales Architekturkonzept war nicht unser Anspruch. Ein bewusst unfertiges, rohes Konzept ist die Basis, um etwaige Anpassungen zu ermöglichen und den ständigen Arbeitsweltwandel zu reflektieren.“

Stefan Herbert, zuständiger Architekt und Head of Studio Corporate Project Development bei METRO PROPERTIES

Mitarbeiterbeteiligung von A bis Be7

Alle Mitarbeitenden werden von der Arbeitsmodellwahl über die Namensgebung und die Officekultur bis hin zum 100-Tage-Feedback ständig gefragt und gehört.

Im Projekt „Be7_Office Culture“ arbeiten viele Teams selbstständig an der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung von Prozessen, die durch das neue Layout entstehen. Ein Kulturwandel für METRO PROPERTIES.

Der Erfolg basiert auf maximaler Flexibilität und MA-Zufriedenheit. 91 %1 schätzen das durch den Arbeitgeber entgegengebrachte Vertrauen sehr.

83 %1 finden ihre Work-Life-Balance verbessert! 71 %1 der Befragten verzichten gern für das Mehr an Flex-Work auf den persönlichen Arbeitsplatz.

1 Auszug aus dem Mitarbeiter-100-Tage-Feedback

Das Officekonzept setzt 3 Nachhaltigkeits­schwerpunkte

Reduce: Die reduzierte Bürofläche spart Energiekosten und Materialeinsatz. Mehr Flex-Tage reduzieren zudem die Pendlerfahrten.

Reuse: Viele Materialien aus dem alten Büro wurden wiederverwendet (Türen, Akustikelemente, Leuchten, Möbel …) oder gingen in den Mitarbeitenden-Flohmarkt.

Recycle: Bei neuen Materialien wurde auf recycelte Rohstoffe geachtet. So ist der neue Teppich CO2-neutral.

Zum Wohlfühlen tragen, neben diversen Rückzugsorten, höhenverstellbare Tische, ein privater Locker, die Raumakustik, Messgeräte für Klimaüberwachung und Lüftungsempfehlungen sowie ein Bewegungsmelder für eine smarte Lichtsteuerung bei. Die zentrale Welcome Zone ist der Anlaufpunkt für alle Kollegen. Neben offenen Meeting-Zonen, einer Bibliothek, Ausstellungsflächen für Projekte und einer Pitch Arena gibt’s hier eine Kaffeebar.

MORE Podcast mit Stefan Herbert

Einer der Köpfe hinter dem Projekt ist Stefan Herbert, Architekt bei METROPROPERTIES. Im MORE Podcast – „Our New Ways of Working“ spricht er darüber, wie hybrides Arbeiten Realität wird.

Zum MORE Podcast (englisch)

Nominierung für den ZIA Office Award 2021

Be7 hat es unter die 3 Besten der Kategorie „Flächenkonzept“ beim ZIA Office Award geschafft. CBRE und ZIA vergeben den Office Award für die erfolgreichsten, innovativsten und nachhaltigsten Konzepte für die Büroarbeit von morgen.

Be7 ist ein „Pilotprojekt“, in dem wir stetig Prozesse anpassen und nachjustieren. Die täglichen Erfahrungen der Mitarbeitenden bieten die Grundlage für künftige Anpassungen. Wir bleiben in Bewegung – WE MOVE.

Ihr Anprechpartner

Heike Robin

Head of PR & Internal Communications, METRO PROPERTIES

+49 211 6886-4208