METRO Campus

METRO Campus of the future

We are responding to worldwide rapid urban growth by optimally and sustainably integrating our locations into the cities of tomorrow – with concepts that provide innovative solutions in response to demographic transitions along with changing environmental conditions, work surroundings and lifestyles. In a world with increasingly flexible ways of living, we provide spaces where people can meet and enjoy life.

We intend to pave the way for these approaches with an open urban design competition. Our basic idea is to use the urban restructuring of the METRO Campus area to create a diversified and lively urban district with an attractive mix of innovative living and working space. It will be a city within the city, in the heart of the Düsseldorf metropolitan region, with the international headquarters of METRO AG right at its centre. This will feature a sustainable mixture of uses, including the METRO administration, residential uses, retail, restaurants, services and leisure, combined with highly attractive open spaces.

The district is to be predominantly car-free and characterised by well-designed public parks and spaces. This will allow METRO to make a valuable contribution to society and show how economic, ecological and social objectives can all be successfully combined.

Working in close cooperation with the Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf, we are committed to collaborative processes, participation and the acceptance of all players and stakeholders.

Annika Gründel, Project Manager PR & Internal Communications
Annika Gründel

A prime location with outstanding prospects for development

Düsseldorf is an attractive city. There has been an ongoing influx of new residents to the state capital of North Rhine-Westphalia. The demand for urban residential and commercial properties far exceeds the limited available inner-city space.

The METRO Campus is an institution that has evolved over decades in the Grafenberg district of Düsseldorf. Its location between the city centre, Grafenberg Forest, Düsseltal and Flingern makes the area unique. When it was purchased in 1967, the site was still in an industrial area on the outskirts of the city; today, decades later, it has become an inner-city location. From an urban planning and property management perspective, the location has enormous potential for development. Our METRO Campus comprises 9.2 ha of space that could be used for alternative purposes.

Urban design competition for a future vision

In cooperation with the Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf, METRO PROPERTIES has launched a 2-phase urban design competition involving national and international architecture and urban planning offices. In the first phase, a jury of experts will select the best 5 designs, which will then be further elaborated in a second, more in-depth phase.

In June 2021, the winner of the competition will be selected by a jury of experts consisting of representatives of METRO PROPERTIES and Düsseldorf politicians and public officials.

For the latest information, see:
www.metro-campus.de

With the urban design competition, we are calling on architects and urban developers to develop ideas for the integration of living and working space, retail, restaurants, leisure and local recreation into the design of the METRO Campus of the future. The vision is to create a diversified and lively urban district in the heart of the Düsseldorf metropolitan region.

Stefan Herbert, Head of Studio, Corporate Project Development
Stefan Herbert

Your contact

Oliver Borg
Director Project Development & Region Germany
METRO PROPERTIES
+49 211 6886-5616

METRO Campus

METRO Campus der Zukunft

Wir begegnen dem rapiden weltweiten Wachstum von Städten, indem wir unsere Standorte optimal und nachhaltig in die Städte von morgen integrieren – mit Konzepten, die dem demografischen Wandel, sich verändernden Umweltbedingungen und Arbeitswelten sowie Lebensgewohnheiten mit innovativen Lösungen Rechnung tragen. In einer Welt mit zunehmend flexiblen Lebensentwürfen schaffen wir Orte der Begegnung und Lebensqualität.

Das wollen wir mit einem freiwilligen städtebaulichen Wettbewerb herausarbeiten. Unsere Grundidee: Die städtebauliche Neuordnung des METRO Campus Areals wird durch die Schaffung eines diversifizierten und lebendigen, städtischen Quartiers mit einem attraktiven Mix aus innovativem Wohn- und Arbeitsraum erreicht. Eine Stadt in der Stadt, inmitten der Metropolregion Düsseldorf, und das internationale Headquarter der METRO AG mittendrin. Eine zukunftsfähige Nutzungsmischung, die sowohl die METRO Verwaltung, Wohnen, Handel, Gastronomie, Dienstleistung und Freizeit umfasst, kombiniert mit hochwertigen Freiflächen.

Das Quartier soll überwiegend autofrei und von gut gestalteten öffentlichen Grün- und Freiräumen geprägt sein. Damit könnte METRO einen gesellschaftlichen Beitrag leisten und zeigen, wie sich ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Ziele in Einklang bringen lassen.

Wir setzen in engem Austausch mit der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf auf gemeinschaftliche Prozesse, Beteiligung und Akzeptanz aller Akteure und Stakeholder.

Annika Gründel, Project Manager PR & Internal Communications
Annika Gründel

Top-Lage mit besten Entwicklungschancen

Düsseldorf ist eine attraktive Stadt. Der anhaltende Zuzug neuer Bewohner/innen in die Landeshauptstadt Nordrhein-Westfalens ist ungebrochen. Die Nachfrage nach urbanem Wohnraum und Nutzflächen übersteigt den begrenzten innerstädtischen Platz bei Weitem.

Der METRO Campus ist eine über Jahrzehnte gewachsene Institution im Düsseldorfer Stadtteil Grafenberg. Die Lage zwischen Innenstadt, Grafenberger Wald, Düsseltal und Flingern macht das Areal heute einzigartig. Beim Ankauf im Jahr 1967 lag das Areal noch in einem Industriegebiet am Rande der Stadt, heute, Jahrzehnte später, befindet es sich in unmittelbarer Innenstadtlage. Aus städtebaulicher und immobilienwirtschaftlicher Sicht hat der Standort enorm hohes Entwicklungspotenzial. Unser METRO Campus bietet 9,2 ha Fläche, die für eine alternative Nutzung grundsätzlich in Betracht kämen.

Städtebaulicher Wettbewerb für eine Vision von Morgen

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf hat METRO PROPERTIES einen 2-stufigen städtebaulichen Wettbewerb ausgelobt, an dem nationale und internationale Architektur- und auch Stadtplanungsbüros teilnehmen. In der ersten Stufe wird eine Fachjury die besten 5 Entwürfe auswählen, die dann in einer zweiten, vertiefenden Phase ausgearbeitet werden.

Im Juni 2021 wird der Sieger bzw. die Siegerin des Wettbewerbsverfahrens von der Fachjury, bestehend aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von METRO PROPERTIES sowie der Düsseldorfer Politik und Verwaltung, gekürt.

Immer aktuell unter:
www.metro-campus.de

Mit dem städtebaulichen Wettbewerb fordern wir Architekten und Stadtentwickler auf, Ideen zu entwickeln, wie Wohn- und Arbeitsraum, Einzelhandel, Gastronomie, Naherholung und Freizeit in die Gestaltung des METRO Campus der Zukunft integriert werden können. Für ein diversifiziertes und lebendiges städtisches Quartier inmitten der Metropolregion Düsseldorf.

Stefan Herbert, Head of Studio, Corporate Project Development
Stefan Herbert

Oliver Borg
Oliver Borg

Director Project Development & Region Germany, METRO PROPERTIES

+49 211 6886-5616