Albertussee – visonary urban development

Albertussee – visonary urban development

The ‘Am Albertussee’ property has undergone an impressive transformation and is a shining example of our competencies: from the site’s revitalisation through the creation of smart office spaces and the arrival of METRO PROPERTIES (2013) to the ‘Living at Albertussee’ concept (2015) and the sale to the new owner, PANDION AG (2018). The entire project is very much in the spirit of DRIVING REAL ESTATE VALUE.

This office property in Heerdt, a Düsseldorf district on the left bank of the Rhine, has been part of the METRO PROPERTIES portfolio since the 1990s. For a long time it proved difficult to find long-term tenants – until MEC moved in in 2011, sending a positive signal and providing new impetus. Looking back, this was the starting point of today’s success story.

 

‘Am Albertussee’ sees gradual appreciation in value

In 2013, following the creation of new smart office spaces and modern infrastructure, 350 METRO PROPERTIES employees moved in, giving the site a new relevance.

More work was done over the following years to increase the attractiveness of the ‘Am Albertussee’ campus. By 2018, 100% of the rental space was occupied – evidence of the successful switch from a classic, conservative office building to a vibrant digital campus.

As an investor, we couldn’t have asked for better preconditions. “Living at Albertussee” proved to be an exemplary concept. The property was turned over at full occupancy and the sale was optimally prepared, from the generation of the idea to the competition and right through to the final transaction.

Reinhold Knodel
Owner and chairman, PANDION AG

Bold plans: changing the asset class from ‘office’ to ‘residential’

At the same time, visions were being developed for the future of the site. Residential property became a dominant focus as early as 2016 – especially in the context of the local urban development situation. Investors had been focusing increasingly on the Heerdt district since the 2010s and property values were rising.

Once the conditions imposed by the city and environment agency had been fulfilled and the district’s council had approved the project, the concrete planning phase could start. One of the city’s requirements was that there should be an architectural competition. The winning design, chosen at the end of 2017, was by Hamburg-based blauraum Architekten.

The ‘Am Albertussee’ property was sold by the Transactions division in July 2018, closing the circle of a very successful project that repositioned the property and turned it into a promising development.

Reinhold Knodel, Owner and chairman PANDION AG

Dates and facts

  • future-driven Asset Management
  • sustainable Project Development
  • successful Transaction

 

Albertussee - A story to be told

Your contact

Albertussee – visionäre urbane Entwicklung

Albertussee – visionäre urbane Entwicklung

Die Immobilie „Am Albertussee“ hat eine beeindruckende Entwicklung vollzogen und steht exemplarisch für unsere Kompetenzen: von der Revitalisierung durch die Schaffung smarter Büroflächen und dem Einzug von METRO PROPERTIES (2013) bis hin zur Idee „Wohnen am Albertussee“ (2015) und dem Verkauf an den neuen Eigentümer PANDION AG (2018). Ganz im Sinne des DRIVING REAL ESTATE VALUE.

Bereits seit den 1990er Jahren ist die Büroimmobilie im linksrheinischen Düsseldorfer Stadtteil Heerdt Bestandteil des Portfolios der METRO PROPERTIES. Eine nachhaltige Vermietungssituation blieb lange aus – bis 2011 der Einzug von MEC ein positives Signal und neue Impulse setzte. Aus heutiger Sicht der Starting Point für eine überzeugende Erfolgsgeschichte.

 

„Am Albertussee“ erlebt eine sukzessive Aufwertung

Nachdem neue smarte Büroflächen und eine zeitgemäße Infrastruktur geschaffen wurden, ziehen 2013 350 Mitarbeiter von METRO PROPERTIES in das Areal und geben dem Standort eine neue Relevanz.

In den folgenden Jahren wird weiter intensiv an der Attraktivität des Campus am Albertussee gearbeitet: 2018 liegt der Vermietungsstand bei 100 % und belegt den erfolgreichen Switch vom klassisch-konservativen Bürogebäude zum vitalen Digitalcampus.

Bessere Voraussetzungen hätten wir uns als Investor nicht wünschen können. Das Konzept ‚Wohnen am Albertussee‘ ist richtungsweisend. Die Immobilie ist voll vermietet übergeben worden und die Veräußerung war von der Ideenfindung über den Wettbewerb bis hin zur finalen Transaktion optimal vorbereitet.

Reinhold Knodel
Inhaber und Vorstand, PANDION AG

Kühne Pläne: Wechsel der Asset-Klasse von „Office“ zu „Wohnen“

Parallel werden Visionen zu der Zukunft des Standorts entwickelt: Bereits 2016 setzt sich das Thema Wohnbebauung klar durch – gerade im Hinblick auf den städtebaulichen Kontext. Der Stadtteil Heerdt rückt seit den 2010er Jahren mehr und mehr in den Fokus der Investoren und gewinnt an Wert.

Nachdem die Auflagen von Stadt und Umweltamt erfüllt sind und die Bezirksvertretung von dem Projekt überzeugt werden konnte, geht die Planung in ihre konkrete Phase. Vorgabe der Stadt Düsseldorf ist ein Architekturwettbewerb, bei dem sich Ende 2017 der Entwurf der Hamburger blauraum Architekten durchsetzen konnte.

Mit dem Verkauf des Objekts „Am Albertussee“ im Juli 2018 durch den Bereich Transactions schließt sich der Kreis von einer sehr überzeugenden Repositionierung der Immobilie zu einer Erfolg versprechenden Projektentwicklung.

Reinhold Knodel, Inhaber und Vorstand PANDION AG

Daten und Fakten

  • zukunftsorientiertes Asset Management
  • nachhaltige Projektentwicklung
  • erfolgreiche Transaktion

 

Albertussee - A story to be told

Oliver Borg
Oliver Borg

Director Project Development & Region Germany, METRO PROPERTIES

+49 211 6886-5616