$name

Einkaufspark Duckwitz in Bremen: a shopping experience with the 'Best of the city'*

After successful revitalisation, now comes the next chapter in making the location in Bremen’s Neustadt district even more attractive to customers. Since 2012, METRO PROPERTIES has been revitalising the Einkaufspark Duckwitz retail park. In the first phase of construction, a DIY chain opened a new store. This was followed in the second construction phase in 2016 by a modern retail park developed on the grounds of what was once the world’s largest Walmart store.

 

EDU3 - more selection, more space, more quality

The third stage of construction is scheduled to be concluded by the end of 2018. On the former sales floor of the bicycle specialist Stadler, a modernised complex with a broad range of brands, goods and services is being built. The new EDU3 offers a high-quality leisure and shopping experience.

The eye-catching, culminating feature: the new façade with 4 different appealing, contemporary designs. The building makes use of very different materials, such as wood, stone and metal, while setting accents with colour and typography.

* TESTBILD "Die Besten der Stadt 2018"

In times of ever greater digitisation and online retail, the human aspect is increasingly coming to the fore. Local centres such as the Einkaufspark Duckwitz in Bremen are places for people to meet and engage with one another.

Stephan Freitag, Head of Asset Management Center und Leasing Management, Region Germany
$name

2 awards for a successful concept

Those who implement innovative and sustainable concepts on the retail real estate market are rewarded. This is shown by the distinctions that the Einkaufspark Duckwitz retail park in Bremen has received:

  • 'Fachmarkt Star 2016' ('Refurbishment' category)
  • BREEAM certificate with the top mark of 'very good' (2017/2018)

The 'Fachmarkt Star 2016' recognises the high leisure and speciality shopping quality of the EDU retail park, while the BREEAM certification was awarded for, among other things, the strongly reduced energy consumption of the revitalised building. The awards are a real affirmation of the professional revitalisation strategy, the attractiveness of the project development and its high sustainability standard.

Dates and facts

  • 2006: acquisition of one of the largest Walmart hypermarket locations by METRO
  • 2011/12: expansion of the location with Hornbach DIY market with garden centre on part of the area of the former car park
  • 2015/16: comprehensive modernisation and conversion of the hypermarket into the EDU retail park
  • 2018: modification of the former bicycle store and reopening as a shopping gallery
  • Rental area (existing): approx. 37,000 m2
  • Development area, shopping gallery (2018): approx. 10,000 m2
  • Number of tenants, mall building (existing): 28
  • Rental areas, shopping gallery (2018): 7
  • Anchor tenants: Real, Saturn, Hornbach, McDonald’s, dm, SIEMES Schuhcenter
  • Parking spaces: approx. 1,300

Your Contact

Einkaufspark Bremen Duckwitz: Einkaufserlebnis bei den "Besten der Stadt"*

Nach erfolgreicher Revitalisierung erfolgt nun das nächste Kapitel, um den Standort in der Bremer Neustadt für Kunden noch attraktiver zu gestalten. Seit 2012 revitalisiert METRO PROPERTIES den Einkaufspark Duckwitz. Im ersten Bauabschnitt eröffnete eine Baumarktkette einen neuen Markt. Mit Abschluss des zweiten Bauabschnitts im Jahr 2016 ist auf dem Gelände des ehemals größten Walmarts der Welt ein modernes Fachmarktcenter entstanden.

 

EDU³ - Mehr Auswahl, mehr Platz, mehr Qualität

Der dritte Bauabschnitt soll bis Ende 2018 abgeschlossen sein. Auf der ehemaligen Verkaufsfläche des Zweiradspezialisten Stadler entsteht ein modernisierter Komplex mit einem großen Marken-, Waren- und Dienstleistungsangebot. Das neue EDU3 bietet Aufenthaltsqualität und Einkaufserlebnis.

Krönender Abschluss und besonderer Hingucker: die neue Fassade mit insgesamt vier verschiedenen Designs, die ein zeitgemäßes Erscheinungsbild verkörpert. Dafür werden ganz unterschiedliche Baumaterialien wie Holz, Stein und Metall verwendet sowie farbige und typographische Akzente gesetzt.

* TESTBILD "Die Besten der Stadt 2018"

In Zeiten zunehmender Digitalisierung und des Onlinehandels rückt die menschliche Dimension mehr denn je in den Vordergrund. Nachbarschaftszentren wie der Einkaufspark Duckwitz in Bremen sind Orte der Begegnung und des Austauschs.

Stephan Freitag, Head of Asset Management Center und Leasing Management, Region Germany

Zwei Auszeichnungen für ein gelungenes Konzept

Wer auf dem Einzelhandelsimmobilienmarkt innovative und nachhaltige Konzepte umsetzt, wird belohnt. Davon zeugen die Auszeichnungen, die der Einkaufspark Bremen-Duckwitz erhalten hat:

  • "Fachmarkt Star 2016" (Kategorie "Refurbishment")
  • BREEAM-Zertifikat mit der Note "sehr gut" (2017/2018)

Der "Fachmarkt Star 2016" prämiert die hohe Aufenthalts-und Versorgungsqualität des EDU Einkaufsparks, die "BREEAM-Zertifizierung" gab es unter anderem für den stark reduzierten Energieverbrauch des revitalisierten Gebäudes. Eine echte Bestätigung für die professionelle Revitalisierungsstrategie, die Attraktivität der Projektentwicklung und für den hohen Nachhaltigkeitsanspruch.

Daten und Fakten

  • 2006 Übernahme eines der größten SB Warenhaus-Standorte von Walmart durch METRO
  • 2011 / 2012 Standorterweiterung durch Hornbach Baumarkt mit Gartencenter auf einer Teilfläche des ehemaligen Parkplatzes
  • 2015 / 2016 Umfassende Modernisierung und Umfunktionierung des SB-Warenhauses zum EDU Einkaufspark
  • 2018 Umbau des ehemaligen Fahrradmarkts und Neueröffnung als Shopping Galerie
  • Mietfläche (Bestand): ca. 37.000 m2
  • Entwicklungsfläche Shopping Galerie (2018): ca. 10.000 m2
  • Anzahl Mieter Mall-Gebäude (Bestand): 28
  • Mietflächen Shopping Galerie (2018): 7
  • Ankermieter: Real, Saturn, Hornbach, McDonald's, dm, Siemes Schuhcenter
  • Parkplätze: ca. 1.300

www.einkaufsparkduckwitz.de

Ihr Ansprechpartner