Makro store Amsterdam – New Work City concept

MAKRO store Amsterdam – New Work City concept

In the capital and most populous city of the Netherlands, good space is hard to find. So the MAKRO Store Amsterdam is a very promising site – it’s close to the centre, easily accessible and versatile.

The New Work City concept is a mixed-use solution that combines a wide range of different functions and areas of life into a vibrant, modern district. This enables a large number of synergies to emerge, as users inspire each other and new ideas form.

 

Visions for the future

A complete redesign of the site will take up to 20 years and requires forward-looking, flexible planning that takes account of present and future needs. The project will incorporate environmental, social and economic aspects in equal measure.

Welfare services – such as dietary advice for a healthy lifestyle, children’s day-care facilities, high-quality social spaces and support for new start-ups – build sustainable communities and an inspirational atmosphere, as do workshops and studios for co-working groups.


We believe in mixed-use concepts that create dynamic, authentic and sustainable locations for many different areas of life.

Nils Kulmann
Director Region Europe

From retail use to mixed use

Planned and built around 40 years ago on the edge of town as a car-centred site, intended exclusively for retail, only a fraction of the site’s potential is currently being used. In future, restaurants and food production, customised production and last-mile logistics and offices (classic offices and co-working spaces) and hotels can be based here, alongside modern wholesale stores.

Sharing, encounters, inspiration and community are the focus of the new mixed-use area in Amsterdam – a glimpse of how living and working might look in 2040.

The New Work City concept was designed by the Studio, Corporate Project Development team.

Nils Kulmann

The New Work City concept is based on 3 pillars

  • Mixing: a dense cluster of different disciplines generates cross-fertilisation of ideas
  • Diversity: a constant exchange through social and cultural heterogeneity
  • Function: specific functions are positioned to meet economic requirements

Makro Store Amsterdam – New Work City Concept

MAKRO Store Amsterdam – New-Work-City-Concept

In der Hauptstadt und einwohnerstärksten Stadt der Niederlande ist guter Raum rar gesät. Äußerst vielversprechend erscheint da das zentrumsnahe Areal „Makro Store Amsterdam“, das gut erreichbar ist und variable Nutzungsmöglichkeiten bietet.

Das New-Work-City-Konzept ist eine Mixed-Use-Lösung, die ganz unterschiedliche Funktionen und Lebensbereiche zu einem pulsierenden, modernen Quartier bündelt. So kann eine Vielzahl von Synergien entstehen, indem sich die diversen Nutzer gegenseitig Impulse geben und wiederum Neues entstehen lassen.

 

Visionen für die Zukunft

Eine komplette Umgestaltung des Areals wird bis zu 20 Jahre in Anspruch nehmen und verlangt eine zukunftsweisende und flexible Planung, die dem Heute und dem Morgen Rechnung trägt. Ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Aspekte sollen gleichermaßen in das Projekt mit einfließen.

Angebote für das Gemeinwohl – wie Ernährungsberatung für einen gesunden Lebensstil, Kindertagesstätten, Orte der Begegnung mit einer hohen Aufenthaltsqualität, Förderung junger Start-ups – sorgen für eine nachhaltige Communitybildung und eine Atmosphäre der Inspiration, genauso wie Ateliers und Studios für Co-Working-Gemeinschaften.


Wir glauben an Mixed-Use-Konzepte, die dynamische, authentische und nachhaltige Orte für vielfältige Lebensbereiche schaffen.

Nils Kulmann
Director Region Europe

Von Handelsnutzung zu Mixed Use

Der Standort wurde vor ca. 40 Jahren für eine automobilzentrierte, ausschließliche Handelsnutzung am Stadtrand geplant und gebaut, heute wird nur ein Bruchteil seines Potenzials ausgeschöpft. In Zukunft können hier neben modernem Großhandel auch Restaurants und Lebensmittelproduktion, kundenbezogene Fertigung und Last-Mile-Logistik sowie Büros (klassisch und Co-Working) und Hotels ihren Platz finden.

Austausch, Begegnung, Inspiration und Gemeinschaft stehen im Mittelpunkt der neuen Mixed-Use-Area in Amsterdam – ein Ausblick darauf, wie das Wohnen und Arbeiten im Jahr 2040 aussehen könnte.

Das New-Work-City-Konzept wurde vom Team Studio, Corporate Project Development entwickelt.

Nils Kulmann

Das New-Work-City-Konzept steht auf drei Säulen

  • Mischung: Eine dichte Anhäufung verschiedener Disziplinen generiert wechselseitige Inspiration
  • Vielfalt: konstanter Austausch durch eine soziale und kulturelle Heterogenität
  • Funktion: Spezifische Funktionen sind so platziert, dass sie ökonomische Anforderungen erfüllen
Nils Kulmann
Nils Kulmann

Director Region Europe, METRO PROPERTIES

+49 211 6886-3718